The Door

— Rickmoy Samanta



Yes, a door… but not a simple one which You can open easily and get to the other side… but it has a small hole, which allows the passage of light, sound and time.

The ‘other side’?? What is there on the ‘other side’?

I can see what is on the other side of that door… I can see you living there… You are very  pleased with what you have there… There is a beautiful fountain, there is a tree full of song-birds, there is warm sunshine and colors, colors all around.

Are you interested to know what is there on this side of the door?

But of course, why will You be interested? It is just a door… but I know You can see too…

Sometimes You can see me in a dark room… like a prisoner. Your natural curiosity drives You towards the door… I can see You come near the door, You shine some light through the hole, seeking signs of life within, but I am too weak to respond to them, I am too weak to seek Your attention, it is only after You have drifted away that I shout for Your help, shout out to You to show mercy.

Sometimes You see me covered in sweat and blood – like a soldier who has got serious wounds in a deadly battle… I see You come to help me, trying to open the door…

But no…

You are not pulling it hard enough.. You need to be stronger… more decisive to do that… more brave…

But these days You are staring at the door longer than usual.

You cannot hear any sound – no light, no signs of life… You may think I have perished..

No, I can assure You I have not… I am just going round and round a high hill, afraid to look down, with only one target in mind – the top.

What is there at the top? – I hear You ask…

A treasure which a greedy person like me is hunting for?

No…

It is a strange hill. At the top, there is a monster whom I want to see, to shake hands with. Because after that, it will hit me, and throw me down the hill… and you will again see me in the dark prison, covered with sweat and blood.

You have asked Yourself a thousand times “Why bother? – I have so much colour around me, I have warm sunshine and a beautiful fountain – the water is so refreshing, the birds sing all day, the blue sky, the green leaves…”

But I can see You are getting tired. You are yelling for a change. You are craving to see the unknown monster, You want to fight like me, You want to face the legendary devil  – the one which takes away life in a flash…

But are you not afraid?

Yes , You are……

But let me tell You that I am afraid too… and I had been once on the side of the door where you stand now. I was so much like You. I also used to peep through the door. I also saw a person suffocating to death. But I saw that he had a strange smile all over his face, his eyes were closed… it seemed he was happy beyond measure… Why?

Why? Why?

And then I saw men, women and children in that dark side of the door lifting their hands and shouting his name, paying homage to the soldier.

And the soldier said “What does it matter if I have lost? When I see so many people lifting their hands and praying for me to win against the monster, I consider myself a winner, I have won in my life.”

Come my friend,  come, let us fight together…

But I can hear you asking “How on earth am I going to break that door?”

I will tell You a secret – how I opened it and came over to this side…

I came near it one day, desperate to help the many victims of the eternal struggle going on the other side… Then I heard an ancient voice…

Why do you want to open the door?

“Remember, there are many foolish people there who are just carelessly giving away their precious lives. Once you go there, you will also have to join them and you can never come back. You will perish with them – you will be covered in sweat and blood…”

I had my answer ready – “That is what I want. I want to see the unknown, face it, face its deadly blows and then rest in peace… because only then will I see those people lifting their hands in my support. I will see their faces shining with hope; I will see a smile on their lips.

Oh… how I want to see them smile…

Please let me in…

Please let me go to their aid…

Let me die for them rather than sleeping here on the meadows…

The door had opened slowly… with a soft musical cry…

Yes… I can see You coming too.

Yes... it is Your turn now .

I can see Your brave heart, Your determination…

Please let them not go in vain

Let them not go in vain…

Leave a Reply

